Updates & Blog

SGSF welcomes new leadership to serve on its governing Executive Committee

collage of portraits of four men

Pictured: David Arnold, Russell Bozeman, Brandon Howard, Mark Goeller

Today, during the National Association of State Foresters 2023 Annual Meeting in Baton Rouge, LA, a new group of officers was selected to helm the Southern Group of State Foresters Executive Committee for the 2023/24 term. David Arnold, Tennessee State Forester, will chair the SGSF Executive Committee. As the Director of the Tennessee Department of Agriculture, Division of Forestry, Arnold is responsible for the leading forestry and wildland fire management statewide. The Chair of the Southern Group oversees and presides over all executive and board meetings. The Chair also serves as the Southern Area Representative to the National Association of State Foresters.​​​​​​​

SGSF also welcomed Russell Bozeman, Mississippi State Forester as Vice Chair and Brandon Howard, Kentucky State Forester as Treasurer. Mark Goeller, Oklahoma State Forester will continue to serve on the committee as Past Chair to provide historical perspective and continuity. Collectively, the Executive Committee acts and decides matters on behalf of SGSF.