SGSF operates under the leadership of an Executive Committee, made up of elected State Foresters from the region. Collectively, they act and decide matters on behalf of the organization.​​​​​​​

Russell Bozeman- Mississippi State Forester


Russell Bozeman (Mississippi)

The Chair of the Southern Group oversees and presides over all executive and board meetings. The Chair also serves as the Southern Area Representative to the National Association of State Foresters (NASF).​​​​​​​

Tim Lowrimore - Georgia State Forester

Vice Chair

Tim Lowrimore (Georgia)

The Vice Chair assumes leadership in the absence of the Chair.​​​​​​​

Brandon Howard - Kentucky State Forester


Brandon Howard (Kentucky)

The Treasurer serves as the financial officer and provides oversight to the NASF Business Officer in the management of SGSF business and financial transactions. The Treasurer presents financial summaries at all business meetings.

Mark Goeller, Oklahoma State Forester

Past Chair

Mark Goeller (Oklahoma)

The Immediate Past Chair brings a historical perspective and provides continuity to the Executive Committee.


SGSF Committees

Learn More

Committee members represent the needs and priorities of their home agency while collaborating regionally to progress existing and emerging forestry issues.