Updates & Blog

New SGSF leadership to serve on governing Executive Committee

collage of the four members of the SGSF executive committee

Pictured: Russell Bozeman, Tim Lowrimore, Brandon Howard, Mark Goeller

After bidding farewell to outgoing chair, and now retired Tennessee State Forester David Arnold, the Southern Group of State Foresters has elected a new group of officers to helm its executive committee for the remainder of the 2023/24 term. Russell Bozeman, Mississippi State Forester, will chair the SGSF Executive Committee. As the Mississippi Forestry Commission, Bozeman is responsible for leading forestry and wildland fire management statewide. The Chair of the Southern Group oversees and presides over all executive and board meetings. The Chair also serves as the Southern Area Representative to the National Association of State Foresters.​​​​​​​

SGSF also welcomed Tim Lowrimore, Georgia State Forester as Vice Chair and Brandon Howard, Kentucky State Forester as Treasurer. Mark Goeller, Oklahoma State Forester will continue to serve on the committee as Past Chair to provide historical perspective and continuity. Collectively, the Executive Committee acts and decides matters on behalf of SGSF.